Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte, North Carolina

Speeding in a School Zone AttorneysIf you have been driving for any period of time in the Charlotte area, you likely already realize that at some point during your day you have no other choice but to make your way through a school zone. Whether it’s on your way to drop your kid off at daycare, on your way to or from work, on your lunch break, or while running errands you are going to encounter a school zone. Simply put, school zones are everywhere. And when you come across a school zone, it’s important to stay alert. Not only for the safety of all the children nearby, but also for your own personal reasons. This article will mainly look at the impact a conviction for Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte can have on you. But first, let’s take a look at the law of this topic.

The Law in Charlotte: Speeding in a School Zone

Generally, in Charlotte, and throughout North Carolina, the speed limit is 35 mph inside a municipal corporate limit and 55 mph outside of it. However, North Carolina General Statute (N.C.G.S.) 20-141(e1) and 20-141.1 authorizes jurisdictions to lower these speed limits in areas near schools, regardless of whether the school is public, private, or parochial. These are called school zones.

There are requirements that must be met for lower speed limits to be effective in a school zone. Specifically, to be convicted of Speeding in a School Zone there must be signs erected that give notice of the

1.       School zone;

2.       Authorized speed limit; and

3.       Days and hours when the lower speed limit is effective or an electronic flasher operated with a time clock.

In addition to the requirements listed above, lower speed limits in school zones may only be enforced on days when school is in session. Furthermore, school zone speed limits may not be set below 20 mph.

Penalties for Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte

Being convicted of Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte comes with a range of consequences. So, before you simply pay off your traffic ticket – because this does count as a conviction – be aware of the potential issues that may arise from doing so.

Driver’s License Points

Three driver’s license points will be assessed to your North Carolina driver’s license if you are convicted of Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte. These points will remain on your driving record for a period of three years from the date of your conviction. While this may not seem like a big deal, if you accumulate 12 or more points in a three-year period your North Carolina driver’s license will be suspended.

Let’s look at an example. Assume that before being convicted of Speeding in a School Zone, your North Carolina driving record is as follows.

Date of Conviction

Conviction

Driver’s License Points

August 1, 2014

Running a Red Light

3

October 27, 2015

Speeding 70/65

3

June 13, 2016

Running a Stop Sign

3

 

Based on the driving record above, you would have a total of nine points on your driving record. As mentioned above, it takes three years from the date of conviction for points to be removed. Next, assume sometime before August 2017 you are convicted of Speeding in a School Zone, a three-point violation. You would now have 12 point on your driving record and the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles could suspend your driver’s license for a minimum of 60 days.

Insurance Points

If you are convicted of Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte, you will also be assessed three insurance points. Being assessed three insurance points can cause your insurance premiums to increase by as much as 60 percent for your insurance experience period; generally, this is a period of three years in North Carolina. Let’s look at an example of how this could impact you.

Assume you currently pay $500 for six months of full insurance coverage. Given this $500 figure, over the three-year insurance experience period you would pay a total of $3,000. Now, assume you are convicted of Speeding in a School Zone and your insurance premiums increase by 60 percent. As a result, you will now be paying $800 for six months of full insurance coverage and $4,800 over the three-year insurance experience period. This is a difference of $300 every six months or $1,800 every three years.

Court Costs and Fines

On top of potentially having your driver’s license suspended and seeing the costs of your insurance premiums skyrocket, you will also have to pay a total of $438 – a $250 fine and $188 in court costs – if you are convicted of Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte.

Contact the Traffic Law Attorneys at Browning & Long, PLLC Today

If you have been charged with Speeding in a School Zone in Charlotte, North Carolina, do not attempt to handle this ticket on your own. As you can see from this article, the risks are simply too high. Instead, contact one of the experienced traffic law attorneys at Browning & Long, PLLC at (980) 207-3355 for a free, no obligation consultation. Our lawyers can discuss other potential options available to help you avoid unnecessary costs, driver’s license suspension, and insurance premium increases.

Start Fighting Your Traffic Ticket Today

Follow the link below to get Browning & Long on your side immediately.

Traffic Matter Intake Form